Max Dimoff

View 2020 Program

dimoffrowimage@2xMaximilian Dimoff is the principal bassist of The Cleveland Orchestra and Associate Professor of Double Bass at The University of Michigan. Mr. Dimoffs’ career began with an appointment as assistant principal bass with the San Antonio Symphony while still a student in 1990. He was quickly promoted to the principal position. Mr. Dimoff became a member of the Grant Park Symphony Orchestra in Chicago in 1992 and a year later moved back to his hometown to join the Seattle Symphony Orchestra. Since joining the Cleveland Orchestra as Principal Bass in 1997, he has appeared as soloist with the Orchestra at Severance Hall and the Blossom Music Center, as well as on tour at Carnegie Hall and in Europe. 

Mr. Dimoff joined the faculty at The University of Michigan in the fall of 2017 after serving for seventeen years as Double Bass Department Head at The Cleveland Institute of Music. He is also a coach and faculty member with The National Orchestral Institute and The New World Symphony.

Mr. Dimoff studied with Jeff Bradetich while attending Northwestern University. Other influential teachers include Warren Benfield of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Gary Karr, Eugene Levinson of the New York Philharmonic, and Ronald Simon of the Seattle Symphony. Mr. Dimoff performs on a double bass dated 1651 by the Italian maker Antonio Mariani.

Master Class

March 1, 2020

1 pm, Kresge Theatre

Mr. Dimoff will critique the following students of the Carnegie Mellon Double Bass Studio:

Hiroki Yuasa, Advanced Music Studies: Exposition of the first movement of the Koussevitsky Double Bass Concerto; third movement from Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5; Brahms’ Symphony No. 2, movement 1, Letter E; Schubert Symphony No. 9, movement 3, Letter B

Mitch Borkowski, Master of Music: Allemande and Sarabande from Bach’s Third Suite for Unaccompanied Cello transcribed for Double Bass in G Major

Patrick Spallinger, Master of Music: Exposition of the first movement of the Koussevitsky Double Bass Concerto; first page of the first movement of Mozart’s Symphony No. 35; Recitatives from Beethoven’s 9th Symphony; Strauss, Ein Heldenleben, #9